My New Diet

Even though we eat out quite a bit, Lorenzo and I consider ourselves somewhat healthy eaters. But I can’t deny the fact that I’ve gained 20lbs that I can’t get rid of since moving to Georgia back in 2013. Lorenzo has gained some weight too, but it’s not excessive. I know that 20lbs sounds like a lot but it really isn’t. I am 5’7″ (which is a little tall for a woman) and I was underweight for that height. I literally went from a size 2 to a size 4 so no, it wasn’t a big deal.

At first I was in denial about my weight gain….that is until none of my jeans fit anymore and Lorenzo had to buy me new clothes. I’ve chalked it up to a combination of 3 things: 1) relationship weight (this is a real thing), 2) I’m in my 30’s and my metabolism is finally starting to slow down and 3) I don’t really walk that much anymore since I have to drive everywhere, and with the discovery of Shrimp and Grits for dinner it was almost a no-brainer.

While I’m happy with the weight gain, I did have to get used to carrying it around and working out with it. Back in October Lorenzo and I joined a gym and have been going pretty routinely, so one day I suggested that we try giving up meat for a month. We went semi-vegetarian for about a month, plus or minus 3-5 days. We went back to eating meat in December and I decided to give the vegetarian thing another shot in January.

So far, I’ve been doing…okay. I do most of the cooking and Lorenzo just eats whatever I make and so far I haven’t heard any complaints. I know that when he’s not here he’ll eat meat so one night I made him some chicken just so he know’s I didn’t completely turn on him. Because I’m not a full vegetarian and I really don’t know any, I rely on food apps to give me some ideas for dinner choices. I use the Pinterest, Food Network, Yummly, and Gojee Food apps to get dinner ideas. Just today I made a Spicy Vegetarian Chilli with Quinoa (from the Yummly app) which got great reviews, and the other night I made a Spinach and Squash Lasagna (I didn’t use lasagna noodles, I used the Farfalle- it looked like a complete mess but it still tasted good).

Chili
Spicy Vegetarian Chili with Quinoa

I haven’t considered a vegan diet because I haven’t completely committed to the vegetarian diet yet; I mean we went to a Superbowl party and I had to eat meat because everything – even the sides- had meat in them. I really  have to do more research on veganism, I feel like I need to learn more about what’s in these “substitutes” that they have at the supermarket. I don’t know if these options are just a fad right now and if I’m going to make this kind of change I want to know what I’m getting myself into.

So for now let’s just say I’m on the “I don’t eat meat when I don’t have to” diet. I haven’t lost any weight, but that’s not the goal. Its really forcing me to eat even more vegetables, try new things, and discover new recipes…plus I now have a newfound appreciation for mushrooms and tomatoes…almost. I do miss bacon though….

 

feature photo: civiwise.com 

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

