Leave it in 2015

Happy New Year’s Eve everyone!

I always see videos on Youtube about “things to leave behind in (insert upcoming year)” and I always think how funny (and true) they are. Granted, the ones that I usually watch have something to do with beauty products and makeup tips but I’m sure other people have their lists as well. I thought it would be cool to make my own list.

So here is my list of things I want to stay in 2015:

  • Internet Trolls. I really don’t see the point in harassing other people on the internet, whom you will never meet in person, just because they have an opinion that is different from yours. I think it’s crazy when I’m reading a blog or article and I see people argue back and forth in the comment section about things that have NOTHING to do with the topic at hand- because they are too busy insulting each other. People who completely miss the point of the article or read way too much into it are quite irritating also. Do these people have way too much time on their hands or what?

 

  • Fake “News” Articles. I see this on Facebook quite often. People will share these outrageous “news” articles from these random websites and then go on commenting on how they feel about it, getting people all riled up about them, just to find out they are fake. When I used to see them I’d usually go back and tell the poster that it’s from a satire website but I don’t have time to do that every single time. People should check their sources.

 

  • Bad Grammar. I am REALLY over this. I’ve BEEN over this. I swear I had to get off of Facebook for a while because I started developing a tick. Its one thing not to speak correctly, but it’s an entirely different animal when it comes to writing (and posting). Does everything one writes have to be perfect all the time? No, of course not. But it really drives me up a wall that people still don’t know the difference between when to use “women” vs. “woman”, “you’re” vs. “your” and that its, “I’m sorry for your loss” not “I’m sorry for your lost”. I will chalk up some of this up to autocorrect, but not really.

 

  • Made up words. Now this may be just because I’m old and I don’t follow slang that much anymore, or it could be an extension of the bad grammar thing. I wish people would stop making up words to describe things (i.e. “fleek”) when there are PLENTY of other words in the dictionary that could be used. There are over a million words in the language for crying out loud. Dictionary.com was not invented for people to still walk around sounding crazy. But then again, maybe I’m just old and should let it go.

Maybe I need to stay off social media all together so I can save myself the trouble. 🙂

So here is my short list of things that I want to stay in 2015. I know that they have a snowball’s chance in Hell of actually happening, but I guess that is my wishful thinking. For everyone going out tonight to celebrate the New Year, please be safe & have fun. Lorenzo and I might just sit this one out.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

