Goodbye 2015!

I hope that everyone had a wonderful Christmas (or are enjoying the holiday you choose to celebrate) and for those of you who are still on vacation until the New Year: I hate you because I had to go right back to work.

Lorenzo and I flew to New Jersey to spend Christmas with my family. We stayed with my Dad and step-mom but spent most of the time at my sister’s. I did go into the office on the 24th just to see my former co-workers and meet some of the new ones in person. Let me just put it out there: I don’t really miss traveling to work. Getting this opportunity to work from home is one of the best things to happen to me. I’m going to lose it when I have to go back to commuting. Anyway, my siblings did our gift exchange after our nieces opened their gifts. I think they really didn’t care what they got more than they liked just opening the gifts. More than once was a gift torn to shreds, screams and squeals followed, then it was on to the next. I can understand why parents love giving gifts to their kids; seeing how excited they get is everything.

We ended up back in the super crowded city of Manhattan on Saturday as well to do some shopping. I went to a little jewelry store that I love and Lorenzo checked out Macy’s. We also had lunch at Dallas BBQ with my good friend Shenitha and her daughter Jai. I took Lorenzo to see the Christmas tree at Rockefeller Center but it was SO packed we couldn’t get anywhere near it and therefore couldn’t get any good photos. Maybe next year.

IMG_6352
Shenitha & I
L&J
Lorenzo & Jai
IMG_6370
Lorenzo and I

I also got to see one of my aunts and a few of my cousins I don’t really get to see that often. Being with them was sort of nostalgic, it just reminds me of how we were growing up; sitting around laughing, eating, listening to music, and dancing. Lorenzo totally held his own: my family can be …overly zealous…at times and I could see how it could be scary to others. But, Lorenzo FINALLY gets why I’m so loud sometimes. Finally.

Now its back to work as we get ready to ring in the New Year. Lorenzo and I still don’t have plans, but either way I’m sure we’ll be fine. My motto for 2016 is: Focus. I will need to remove all distractions (and daydreaming) and focus on what I want to do and where I want to be: school, work, my marriage and friends. Focus.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 2015!”

Leave a Reply

