Getting Myself Together

I am such a slacker.

I’m going to tell you why I’m such a slacker: I’ve been working from home for almost 3 weeks and I haven’t written a single post. That is terrible. I spend the day working but when I’m done Lorenzo and I will go to the gym for a few hours before we have dinner. We’ve also been helping Lorenzo’s sister create her own exercise and meal plan to help her lose weight and get in shape.

Lorenzo and I also decided to give up meat (with the exception of seafood) until Thanksgiving. I wanted to do it for a full month but I forgot we are traveling to see his family for Thanksgiving and I doubt that not eating meat would fly too well. We are only 5 days in and so far so good. I even went out on a limb and had a Quinoa burger with marinated beets for lunch yesterday. It wasn’t bad but it took me a long time afterwards to determine if I was still hungry or not. I honestly wasn’t sure. I think my stomach was trying to psych me out and make me think that I wasn’t so I would try to get some beef instead.

Putting limits on the stuff I’m used to is going to force me to branch out and try other things and I’m completely open to that. Growing up, Lorenzo and I were very limited as to what we ate. Lorenzo had never been to a restaurant until he was 16 or 17. My mom never branched out with anything beyond what she knew and the only thing she knew was mostly traditional southern food. I swear we ate chicken and rice so much I thought I was going to grow feathers.

So it’s safe to say Lorenzo and I are pretty open minded when it comes to food. I was kind of surprised he went for the vegetarian thing. But this is good, because it’ll force me to cook more and make sure we are getting plenty of vegetables in our diet.

Oh! And speaking of cooking- we went to a cooking class the other day. It was at Sur la Table and it was actually pretty cool. It helps that both Lorenzo and I already know how to cook, it was just nice to learn something new. I had brussel sprouts! My mom never used to make them growing up and then the perception that you have of them from television is that they are gross so I was never eager to try them. I have come to learn that is not necessarily true. They are actually quite good.

Cooking Class

One day I might get fancy and try to make them myself.

Anyway I need to make sure I don’t neglect my writing. I’ll have to get focused and get myself together to make sure I don’t stop writing. No excuses.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

2 thoughts on “Getting Myself Together”

  1. I think you’ll get more success out of a diet if you have your partner on board as well. Tim and I went carb free for a month before Jamaica and I don’t think I would have stuck to it if I didn’t have him doing it with me. We checked in with one another every day and listen to one another complain when pizza or bread tempted us.

    Did you make the quinoa burgers yourself? If not, I have a really good recipe that is full of vegetables, protein, and a small amount of cheese. They are so good!

    And who could skip turkey on Thanksgiving?!

    1. Hey Jen! Yes we are doing it together because there is no way in the world I would be able to do it on my own. I would love a recipe, I actually got the burger from a place called Farm Burger- which is next to the supermarket. I’ve been finding a lot of recipes on Pintrest. Tonight, I’m making tacos 🙂

Leave a Reply

