Oh, Savannah!

I’m back at it again with some military training. It was kind of last minute so I had about zero time to write about it beforehand.

This training event is in Georgia, but this time and I’m about 45 minutes away from Savannah. This was very convenient because I’ve wanted to visit Savannah since I moved here. Lorenzo has been here before, but he was okay with driving out here to visit so that we could see it together.

Since Lorenzo arrived Friday evening, we slept in, then went to get some breakfast before heading out. We did some shopping first (well, I did some shopping) then we went downtown and took one of the tour buses around the downtown area. We took a quick tour because we caught the last bus. Lorenzo was telling me that Savannah has a lot of history (the town was established 43 years before the United States declared its independence) and we learned a lot on the tour as well.

Bus

Bus Tour
Bus Tour

We also had dinner at a place called The Shrimp Factory on River Street. I got the Shrimp & Grits (as usual) and Lorenzo got the stuffed shrimp. We also ordered a popular drink called the Chatham Artillery Punch which also has a 200+ year old history in Savannah. I wasn’t super thrilled about the drink but they give you a complimentary glass when you purchase it. The food was great but I think I’ll try another drink next time.

Shrimp and Grits
Shrimp and Grits
Chatham Artillery Punch
Chatham Artillery Punch

Me always eating Shrimp and Grits is going to be the death of me. I’ve gained 20lbs within the first 6 months of me living in Georgia and I partially blame it on the fact that almost every restaurant here has it on the menu. I think I’ve only had it at one place and didn’t think it was great- but that didn’t stop me from eating it. And don’t worry about the 20lbs, I was always underweight so I could stand to gain a few pounds.

I have another week to go before I head back to Atlanta. Lorenzo and I don’t have any plans for the weekend just yet but that is quite alright with me. I think I want to rest up before I head back to work.  Laters!

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

