Lorenzo’s Birthday

I’m back…with photos! This is what I was trying to share last week:

Last weekend was Lorenzo’s birthday. It was the first time we were actually able to spend it together in about 2 years. We both seem to always have training scheduled on his birthday, so I was pleased that we were able to spend this one together.

We both were home before Saturday, but because we were both exhausted, he didn’t want to go anywhere that was too far away (maybe for another time?).  I reserved a hotel room in downtown Atlanta at the Westin. I also made us reservations to eat at the Sundial– the revolving restaurant.

Our room was on the 63rd floor of the hotel so we already had an awesome view; we were able to see the Braves Stadium from where we were facing. We arrived in the middle of the day so we walked around, and took a ride on the Sky View Ferris Wheel. We finally found out that the tall, pointy, brass, pencil looking building belongs to Bank of America.

View

On the Sky View Ferris Wheel
On the Sky View Ferris Wheel

When I lived in New Jersey and worked in New York, I never really took the time to learn about the city I was in. I read somewhere that every now and again you should “be a tourist” in your own city. One, it’ll give you something to do, and two it’ll help you learn more about your city’s history…you get to view it from a tourist’s perspective.

So, anyway, from the restaurant we were able to get a full circle view of all of downtown Atlanta. It was a beautiful view…even at night. It takes about 35 minutes for it to rotate one full time. So by the time you are done with your meal you’ve already went around the city once and then maybe a little more. Lorenzo had eaten there before, but I never have so it was a new experience for me. The funny thing was that our waitress turned out to be the same waitress we had when we stayed at the Intercontinental last November. You just never forget a personality like hers. Her name is Anne and she is a retired school teacher who is now waiting at both locations. She’s been with the Sundial for almost 30 years. I thought she was amazing because you can just tell that she loves what she does.

Lorenzo and I with Anne.
Lorenzo and I with Anne.
Sundial Restaurant
Sundial Restaurant

Lorenzo said that he had a good time, which was my ultimate goal anyway. I did get him some tangible gifts as well. He showed me an Emporio Armani watch that he liked; the band looks like a standard leather band with a buckle but is all medal. I also got him a bracelet from a company called Vitaly Design Ltd; he found the company on Instagram and showed me one of the pieces that he liked. The company specializes in men’s jewelry, so I’m sure I’ll be shopping there again.

All in all, a good weekend 🙂

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

