New Random Thoughts

1. I realized that taking a break from Facebook for Lent actually helped me free up a lot of time. Ever since I put the app back on my phone I find myself checking it randomly throughout the day knowing that there’s not much that would interest me anyway. I think I’ll just stick to using it for remembering the birthday’s of the people who I don’t have in my phone. I’m still going to keep Instagram and Twitter though.

2. Lorenzo and I are going to the courthouse exactly 2 weeks from today. While I’m very excited, a small part of me is very nervous and I don’t know why. I guess a part of me is scared that something will change, even though I’m sure nothing will. I think my nerves are just trying to get the best of me. Maybe its the anticipation. I don’t know.

3. Why do some women feel a need to make it a point to randomly talk about another person’s weight / size? The other day at work, a woman noticed my shirt and said that she had the same shirt. I was about to respond with how I thought she had good taste, but before I could she said noted that her size was a lot larger. Why? Why did she need to mention that? I don’t know what size her shirt is…how am I supposed to respond to that? I don’t know what to say to people when they point out how skinny I am. Am I supposed to say ‘thank you’? I don’t think I should, I know what I look like…I mean…what do you want me do here?

4. One of my military friends is moving to Ashville, NC next month. She will be there around the same time I am getting back from my 2 week event in New York. I am so excited to have one of my friends somewhat nearby. Ashville is about 3 hours away from from Atlanta, but it is better than her being all the way in Maryland.

5. I am happy that I have been able to walk away from my deployment and New Jersey with some good friendships in tact. There are quite a few people that I used to spend a good amount of time with that I no longer speak to or even have their numbers in my phone. When I think about the people that I call my “friends”, I think about all the people whom I’ve never had issues with (or minimal issues) and who have been there for me when I needed them just as much as when I was there for them. Sometimes its very hard to push people out of your life, but when the relationship becomes toxic you just HAVE to let them go and move on. Only when you get rid of all the bad people do you start to make room for the better people. I can honestly say that once I got rid of my toxic “friends” and cut off those mentally draining relationships that I was able to let in people who had better intentions for me; I finally have peace in my life- no drama. There is no way that I’m going back to that, and I’m now extremely careful who I let in my circle.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

