Product Review: Sephora Favorites-Lashstash

There is nothing like mascara. Its amazing how it just makes your eyes stand out even if the rest of your face completely bare. If I were forced to only be allowed to use one item of makeup for the rest of my life (other than Chapstick), it would be mascara. While its a pain the arse to take off sometimes it’s still my favorite, and probably always will be.

I purchased Sephora Laststash a few weeks ago and I’ve used all of them at least 3 or 4 times, but I’ve decided which I liked and which I didn’t after only the first use. Here is the list in order of my preference:

Clinique-  Dual Ended High Impact Mascara and Lash Primer- This surprised me because I’ve generally have had a “Bleh” experience with Clinique products. The brushes are the perfect size and the formula doesn’t get super hard. This is the only one I’ve considered purchasing.

Smashbox Full Exposure- This was the largest one in the box. It also has the biggest brush. Usually big brushes create a mess for me because my eyelashes are naturally sparse and barely there, but I’ve managed to make this one work.

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara- This is the smallest tube in the group, but the brush is pretty big and spiral-ly. Its also very soft, which is nice because its easy to apply.

Lancome Paris Hypnose Drama Mascara– I have a Love/Hate relationship with this one. While the bristles on the brush are long and it curves to help with making the lash curl, its just really….messy. I made an absolute mess of my eyes when applying this one. I think the formula took too long to dry for me.

These two were stabbing/scratching my eyelashes during application:

Buxom Lash Mascara in Blackest Black and Benefit-They’re Real! I had high hopes for the Benefit mascara. I think because my lashes are not that long to begin with so I was hoping to see a significant difference with using it. No, it just scratched me up and left me looking like the rest.

And for these four, I wasn’t a fan of the brushes:

Josie Maran Argan Black Oil Mascara- The shape of the brush did nothing for my lashes but on top of that the formula was really dry as well.

Kat Von D Immortal Lash 24HR Mascara- Not only does this one have a brush that I couldn’t stand, it was also VERY dry. Even taking it out of the tube took some effort.

YSL Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils Baby Doll- This bristles on this one are very short. It was very hard for me to grab my lashes with it and I had to apply it multiple times just to see some results.

Sehpora Collection Outrageous Curl Dramatic Volume and Curve Mascara– The name for this one makes me laugh because there hardly a brush to use, let alone curl. There was barley anything to catch my lashes. This is the one I’ve had the hardest time with.

The kit also came with an Eye Makeup Remover that I haven’t used yet because I use Pond’s Cucumber Cleanser to get the mascara off. It’s mascaras worst nightmare. I’m happy I made the purchase because it, a) means I don’t have to buy any mascara for a while and b) I got an opportunity to try out a few different brands I probably wouldn’t have purchased otherwise or may not have gotten around to trying.

Has anyone tried these and had a different experience? What’s your favorite mascara? Why?

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

5 thoughts on “Product Review: Sephora Favorites-Lashstash”

    1. I was shocked too! I’ve never been impressed with Clinique in the past so I assumed that I wouldn’t like it, but it really is my favorite of this bunch. I’ve used it more than any of the others.

Leave a Reply

