A Product Review: Tea Tree Oil

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before but I have a little issue when it comes to shopping. Other than my insatiable love of stilettos I also have a thing for beauty products, particularly those that claim treat acne.

Somewhere, at some point in time, I read that Tea Tree Oil helps treat acne. I probably read it in one of the millions of beauty magazines I’ve read during my 20’s but I’d never tried it before because the “Tea Tree Oil” I’ve seen in the beauty supply stores in New Jersey looked cheap and fake to me. I’ve read so many different things treat acne that I stopped believing that anything other than the “cleanse, tone, moisturize” routine would work.

So anyway, last month I had the mother of all pimples show up on my cheek and let me tell you…that thing was a mother- uh- something else. It was really something else. It felt like there were two pimples trying to come up from under a blanket at the same time, but they just couldn’t get to the surface. Its was kind of gross…and painful. It left a HUGE bruise on my cheek. I started out using a spot treatment from Murad that I had on hand but it just didn’t seem to be doing anything so I used the Tea Tree Oil.

I noticed over the course of 2 or 3 days that it dried up and was significantly smaller; even the scar was smaller. The Tea Tree Oil has a strong smell and I think I over did it because after a few minutes it made my eyes water, but that doesn’t matter because I’m SOLD!

I’m teaching myself to be more patient with beauty products, I tend to switch them up every month or two just to “try something new”, but I’m going to stick with this one. Tea Tree Oil can be used for many other purposes as well, like using it to treat sunburn or ringworm. For now I’ll stick with using it for my acne and Lorenzo’s occasional razor bumps. I think I’ll add this to my “favorites” list.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

2 thoughts on “A Product Review: Tea Tree Oil”

  1. LOL…Tea Tree Oil HAS to be diluted…Next time put a few drops in water, mix it and apply with a q-tip. There is a knockoff of Mario Badescu Drying lotion, that you can make with Calamine Lotion, Tea Tree Oil and Purified Water. Hope that helps Hon!

Leave a Reply

