Random Snippets of My Life

1.

I’m starting to get really homesick. I want to go home for a while-at least a week- but I have no clue who Lorenzo and I would stay with because I don’t want to get a hotel and then everyone is going to have work so what would we do all day? Some of my siblings are moving soon, so it would be hard to get everyone together and it’s like pulling teeth to get a day off of work at my job. I’ll have to figure something out.

2.

Lorenzo has become a little preoccupied with frozen yogurt lately. Sunday, my brother, his girlfriend, Lorenzo and I went shopping at Perimeter Mall and we stopped by the food court for some food. We also stopped by Pinkberry for some fro-yo as an after dinner treat; and for the past two days he’s been wanting to go back. Mind you, last night Atlanta was in the middle some kind of “storm” where there was going to be “frozen rain” and all this black ice but he wanted to get frozen yogurt. It was frozen outside! He went to get dinner tonight and came home with more frozen yogurt from a place called Yogli Mogli. I don’t know what’s going on in his head right now.

3.

I really can’t wait to get married, but I’m hoping that people would stop asking me- or rather forcing their opinions on me. One of my co-workers from New York got married about 7 months before Lorenzo proposed, and after I announced the engagement she gave me the absolute best piece of advice that I’ve remembered and stuck with throughout the past year and a half: everyone has an opinion. She told me that everyone was going to have something to say about how Lorenzo and I should plan our wedding, but to remember that this is for US so plan it how WE want to. She was SOOOOOO right. I’ve never been one to ask other people their opinions on what I should or should not do, primarily when it comes to how I spend my money, so all these people who’ve been telling me how I should have the wedding of my dreams have been more annoying than helpful. Of course I don’t want to be rude because I know their suggestions are coming from a good place but sometimes I just want to scream, “Let us have OUR day OUR way!”

4.

I find myself feeling tired a lot more than I should. If my mom was alive she would accuse me a being pregnant. But then again, when I was in high school, every 15 minutes she was accusing me of being pregnant: if I wanted to sleep in on the weekend or didn’t want chicken for dinner for the umpteenth time- I was pregnant. Whatever. I think I just need to exercise more.

5.

I’m not a huge TV person- I have my few favorite shows that I watch faithfully: Sons of Anarchy (before it ended), The Walking Dead, Scandal, and How to get Away with Murder… but now I have to watch Empire because my team won’t talk to me unless I watch it and discuss it with them on Thursday mornings. They also looked at me crazy to because I didn’t discover shrimp and grits until I moved here. What do they want from me? I’m a Yankee…remember?

 

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

