Chasing Your Dreams

Chasing Dreams Image

How do you know when it’s time to move on from the job you have to the job you love? How do you know what you were meant to do? Is it something that you’ve always wanted to do or something that you discover randomly one day? I’m having that kind of dilemma right now. I am not a fan a what I do right now but I’m not sure of exactly what I WANT to be doing; the job that I would love to have. They say, “You’ll know you’ve found a job you love when you don’t mind doing it for free” or “Find a job you love and you’ll never work another day in your life”.  What “they” don’t tell you is HOW to get there.

I have hobbies: reading, writing, shopping, photography, travel, but don’t have a passion to do any of them. I don’t dream of doing any of them full time, I just like to do them when I have time. I feel like I have this rich person’s complex because I already feel like I should have enough money to just do what I want to do, when I want to do it, and travel when I want to travel. I’ve always felt like I was supposed to have been born into a wealthy, privileged family and somehow or another I was switched at birth. There is some girl out there who is living MY life! 🙂 Granted, there is nothing like earning your own- absolutely NOTHING like the feeling of buying something for yourself that you’ve worked so hard to have. I wouldn’t trade it for anything; its one of the main reasons I feel in love with Lorenzo. He knows what it means to have nothing and works hard to have everything, so he is humbled, grateful, and appreciative.

Anyway…I think I have some soul searching to do. I need to do it quickly because I never thought in my entire life that I would consider unemployment than working (that’s how you know its time to go). I know that Lorenzo will support me, but I know he will only support logical decisions, and me just up and quitting is not one of those logical decisions. I am trying to be patient, even though it was a quality that I was never any good at mastering. I think because I’ve never had a “career that I’ve always wanted”, I’m going to end up being one of those people who finds their way later on. Like the Lawyer who gave up law to open a restaurant or write novels.

I always wonder why some people stay a jobs they hate for decades and never try to do anything different. I know that its scary to start over, or pursue something that may not work out – especially when you already have a family to support, but I’ve always felt that life is more than working like a dog for 40 years just to make someone else rich. Money makes the world go round, and while I most definitely want my cut, I don’t want to sacrifice my happiness just to have it. We (as in we Americans) spend more time at work than we do at home in some cases and I want to make sure that it with a job that I can enjoy.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

