December is Almost Here!

Holiday Party

I can’t believe its almost December! I was thinking about how this year has flown by so quickly and how I didn’t get to complete all of the “resolutions” I’d made for myself the year before. I didn’t complete my book challenge, or my writing challenge. I got a job…not a great job, but a job nonetheless, and due to multiple car repairs on both our parts, Lorenzo and I didn’t get to go on an actual vacation this year. We went to Daytona Beach for a weekend, and to Myrtle Beach 3 times but in each instance it was for no more than 2 days. I think next year I will set more attainable goals, with time limits, and not thinking of random things I want to do that I really don’t have time for.

On another note I hope that everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Lorenzo and I went back out to Myrtle Beach to spend it with his mom. This year the entire family didn’t get together, everyone just did their own thing. Lorenzo’s mom has a Time Share that she used last weeks so we ended up spending it right on beach. She’d already cooked before we got there, so all we did was show up and eat (which I am not complaining about at all). Some of Lorenzo’s cousins came over to hang out for a little while and on Friday we went to visit 2 of his Aunts on the way back to his mother’s place.

Myrtle Beach

I wasn’t upset about missing any Black Friday shopping because it was something I gave up years ago. I don’t like the crowds, I’ve never really found any amazing deals, I don’t need a new television, and I’ll be damned if I’m getting up at 4am to go shopping. I hate getting up that early for military related events and they pay me to be there. Pass. I usually wait until the crowds die down before I venture out, and that’s only if I really need something.

Last weekend I took Lorenzo and a mini “stay-cation” here in Atlanta. I took him to the Intercontinental Hotel in Buckhead, next to Lenox Mall. I thought that we deserved to relax a little bit considering that we’ve probably spend more than $4000 in car repairs combined, and didn’t really get to go anywhere, other than to visit family. I requested a Romance Package, where they leave rose petals all over the room, a bottle of Champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries. He really enjoyed it. He is usually the one who plans things like that, so I thought it would be nice to do something for him for a change. For dinner I took him to Chops Lobster Bar, which was about 4 minutes from the hotel. He unknowingly recommended it when I asked him to recommend some good restaurants in Buckhead other than The Palm. I liked the restaurant; Lorenzo and I usually have a good experience whenever we go out and this place was no exception. Definitely an “every now and again” kind of experience because of the prices, but that’s never really stopped us in the past. I know some of the servers at The Palm by name.

Room Relaxing

We haven’t decided what we are going to do for Christmas, it’ll probably end up being a last minute decision like this one was. I know that we have to sit down and get our plans in order for next year, one of the main things being the wedding or whatever wedding-like plans we are going to come up with. But, I’m not even going to get into that right now. 🙂

How was your Thanksgiving?? Any great family stories to share??

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

