Here Comes the Bride. Almost.

Bride

 

 

 

 

I think Lorenzo and I are going to (finally) start taking this wedding planning seriously. This past Saturday we went back to one of the first venue’s we visited last year to get an updated report on the vendor list, and to ask more questions about the pricing.  I really liked the place, it was my favorite of all of them, but at the time is just seemed to cost too much. Once we compared it to other Venues in Atlanta, like the Botanical Garden or Cheatu Elan, it didn’t seem so bad.

This all came about when we found a place in Myrtle Beach. Once Lorenzo picked apart the quote that they gave us, we decided to give this place another chance. We started doing all the venue shopping before we set a budget. To be honest, I don’t think we’ve set a budget yet- I just remember stating a lot of things I WASN’T going to pay for. Lorenzo is lucky that I’m not someone who will take advantage of this suggested budget that we have for this wedding. I’m not thinking about the day of, I’m thinking about afterwards. I don’t want to spend so much on the wedding that we spend the first 6 years of our marriage paying it off. So that just means that I have to make my money work for us. Besides, we only want there to be 100 people-including us-so it doesn’t have to be super extravagant. We even got an idea to have picnic the day after the wedding so that our families can get to know each other in a more casual setting, and it will give us a chance to invite more people without having to worry about all the pomp and circumstance.

I think at this point once we find a caterer that we like, then we will set a date. I know that seems kind of backwards to find a venue then set the date but we’ve been dragging our heels on this and at this point we have to take what we can get and be flexible. Once we secure a venue I’ll have to stop being the Anti-bride, suck it up and actually plan this wedding. I’ve held out for as long as I could and I’ve failed miserably at convincing Lorenzo to elope.

Even though we are taking our time and being super picky about what we want to pay for, I still think it will be a nice event. Lorenzo doesn’t do things that aren’t classy. I don’t want us to be SO cheap about it that we ruin the experience for everyone, because if that’s the case we might as well skip the formalities and just have a barbecue. I told him I want it to be an event that I would like to attend. If he’s going to make me do this, then it has to be done right.

 

Uggghhhh….this means I have to go dress shopping now. I should try to sign up for Say Yes to the Dress….

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

2 thoughts on “Here Comes the Bride. Almost.”

  1. The biggest problem you’ll have is how beautiful you’ll look in every wedding gown…you’ll have a hard time choosing.

    I wish I could plan my wedding all over again…it was so much fun.

    1. Really? I’m kinda scared I’ll hate everything 🙂 I know how picky I am so I’m hoping to find something I like without all the hassle. Everyone keeps telling me I’ll get into it more once we start planning…any day now…. LOL.

Leave a Reply

