Misery Will NOT Get Company

no-negativity

 

 

 

I would like to consider myself a pretty positive or optimistic person. I think I’m pretty easy going and laid back…for the most part.

One of the things that I was worried about when moving here was if I was going to have a hard time making (and keeping) friends. Not because I’m a horrible person, but because I really don’t have the patience to put up with crazy drama queens and their negativity; and I’ve heard a lot of not-so-great things about women in Atlanta.

I have 4 biological sisters, a step sister, 12 to 14 aunts, and about a million and a half female cousins. It is safe to say I grew up around a lot of women so I’m used to being around them. Most of my life, even though I was every shy, I’ve always managed to make friends. It wasn’t until  after joining the Army and when I started college that I started to experience how ugly some women can be.

While I was in Iraq in 2009 and  2010 I decided that I wasn’t going to have unnecessary negativity and drama in my life and that included the people that were bringing it in my life in the first place. Subsequently, that meant letting go of some people I had been friends with for almost a decade (but I’ll save the details of that story for another time).

So before I moved here I was told by people that lived here (and some that didn’t) to be very careful with the women in Atlanta, and in the South in general because a lot of them will smile in your face and try to steal your man behind your back (but I mean, you can find someone like that anywhere right?). Lorenzo was very stern about his stance on that, mostly because he knows a lot of guys who claim to be friends with each other but will talk about trying to sleep with the guys wife when he’s not around….again another story for another time.

Fortunately, I have been pleasantly surprised because the women that I’ve met since I’ve been here have been super nice people. I haven’t had any of the issues that other people have warned me about, and I’m grateful for that. I think because I’ve already dealt with so many issues from other people back home, that I’m not allowing people to get so far up in my life that their decisions effect me emotionally. While I care for the friends I have made here, I don’t get wrapped up in their lives and they don’t get too deep in mine- which I think it was makes the difference.

But do I miss being super close to females? Sure I do. Who doesn’t love girls nights out, lunch dates, dancing, movie nights, and girl talk? I just think I’ll save those nights for my family and some of my old friends from back home. I’m not put off by the idea of having female friends, I just know now what kind of craziness I’m not willing to put up with anymore….

 

I know guys never have these kinds of issues…. or do they?

 

 

 

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

