How to Deal with Stress

I hate it when I am stressed; I get migranes, I have asthma attacks more often, I subconsciously think my hair is falling out, and my body starts acting all crazy. However, on the flip side of that, if there isn’t complete chaos in my life, I feel like I’m not doing anything with myself and that I am just wasting time so I find a new project to work on. My current stressors are:

Working (weird crazy hours)
Going back to school (and taking an Economics class, no less)
Wanting to go to a different school to get a certificate in Project Managment
Finding money to pay for school
Finding another job to help pay for school
Not having the certification to get the job, to help pay for school
Not spending enough time with Lorenzo
I haven’t been working out because I’m exhausted from work, school, and the military
Oh… and my car broke down the other day and its going to cost over $1400 to get it fixed

Sigh.

I wish the post could be about how to actually deal with stress. Maybe I should look into that.

When I was in my 20’s I used to try to tackle all of issues at the same time (my “problems” seemed to occur on 3’s for some reason) and I used to run myself ragged trying to fix them all. One of my friends told me to stop stressing myself out and handle my issues one at a time so that it didn’t feel like the world was crashing down on me at once. Looking back, I realize that I was exaggerating the severity of my problems and they really weren’t all that bad- not good- but not AS horrible as I was making it seem.

Now that I’m in my 30’s, I tend to handle them a little bit better. I give a lot a credit to the fact that when I was in Iraq I promised God and myself that I would stop worrying about every little thing if I could just make it out of there alive, in one piece, and with my sanity. Since I am not one to break a promise, I’ve been living up to that. Some days are harder than others, but I always try to remind myself of that. I also noticed that I have been able to minimize some of the unnecessary stress in my life by following this path.

So, I’m just going to tackle these things one at a time. I’m going to pay to get my car fixed, and work on my class work every free minute I get. I have to make sure that I am getting some rest, and I will have to find an alternate work out schedule. I’ll worry about the Project Management school after this class is over, and I’ll work on a budget to help pay for it. The rest will fall into place.

So there is it. How I’m going to deal with my (current) stressors.

How do you guys deal with stress? I would love some new insights.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

