Family is Forever

FamilyIsForever

Over the past 3 weeks I have been sad, then happy, then sad again (okay, well not really ‘sad’ but just not as happy). Why? Well because right before Memorial Day, Lorenzo had to leave to start his annual commitment with the Marine Corps. So not only did he miss Memorial Day weekend with me, he also missed the opportunity to meet my nieces Jojo and Mya. The day after Lorenzo left, my sister Morgan, her fiance (I can officially say that now, I think), and their two girls come down to visit his family who also lives here in Georgia. Jae (Morgan’s fiance) has a younger brother who was graduating from high school, so they all came down along with his grandmother, aunt and cousin to celebrate. The plan was for them to stay for a week, but Morgan ended up loving it here so much that she extended her stay for another week. I still have to figure out how she got the airlines to extend her stay for $29, but I digress.

LorenzoJo and I

I’m not gonna lie, it was weird holding a baby again. My youngest sister will be 19 this year, and the only other children I’ve spend a good amount of time with was my cousin Nile, but I went to Iraq a few months after he was born so by the time I came home he was too big to be held. He was already running around. I am so surprised that my little sister is a mother. She always talked about having children, so I am not surprised that she is handling everything so well. She was telling me about all of her “maternal instincts” that just take over when she’s with the baby. I think its amazing. Jordin (Jojo for short) is a very happy baby; she smiles A LOT, and her Mya is LOVING the fact that she’s a big sister now. Spending time with Jae and his family was really very nice. His family is very loving and hospitable and you can tell they have a good time together. When Jae and Mya went home after staying for a week, Morgan and Jo came and stayed with me for another week. My brother Keith came over for the weekend also, so we all got to spend some time together since he didn’t get a chance to meet Jo yet either. I enjoyed having them here (especially since Lorenzo wasn’t around).

Mya and Jo Happy BabyJojo

Jojo is a pretty good baby. I think I did okay with her when I held her; she only cried with me a few times LOL. She was definitely my friend when I was dancing with her and she threw up all over me. I started to laugh and she ended up laughing harder that I did. It was a little tough to send them home (Morgan didn’t want to leave either), but I had to turn around and get ready to start my annual commitment.

Lorenzo and I talk every day, and last night we decided that we have to get serious about the wedding. No more messing around and procrastinating. Whether we go traditional, beach wedding, Vegas, or courthouse, we have to start making serious plans soon. I still haven’t made up my mind about anything beyond the colors. Yes, I know I am a mess. I have two weeks of military training ahead of me and once this is done, I really won’t have too much of an excuse (except for school maybe); but since Lorenzo and I are planning together, it shouldn’t be that bad. *fingers crossed*

When baby vomit attacks Jo laughing at me Teeny Tiny Tootsies

I’m sure I won’t take lots of pictures during my training event (I’ve lost the love of traveling with the military a long time ago), but I’ll definitely make sure to take tons when Lorenzo and I take a trip on the 4th of July. 🙂

See you in 2 weeks!

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

