Its been a long time….

Sorry

I know…Its been about a month. I’m not sure if you guys remember but the last time I wrote I was telling you about new job Lorenzo’s friend helped me get. Networking is EVERYTHING. The job has been keeping me pretty busy. I’ve spent the past 4 weeks in training, and now I’m in a transition period. I have to do this for a few more weeks, but then I have Army stuff for a few weeks and then I’m back to work. Its been really hectic now that I’m working again, so I just haven’t had the time to write. Apologies.

Lorenzo and I haven’t been doing too much during the past month. For Mother’s Day, we drove out to Daytona to visit his sister for the weekend. The drive took about 6 1/2 hours, and even though we only stayed for about a day and a half, we had a good time. We went shopping, to Daytona Beach, and dinner. We were supposed to go to a club that night, but I was was so exhausted, I went to take a name and didn’t wake up until 3 hours later. We just had a late dinner and went back to sleep. On Mother’s Day, because my fiance is a weirdo and a Marine, we wen with this sister and niece for a quick run around the block. We make up for it by treating them to brunch at a restaurant close to the beach. I am not sure of the name of the restaurant, but it overlooked a pier and had a tree branch running directly through the deck. There was a pelican hung around, and the guests used to feed it raw shrimp.

Daytona Daytona 3

Once we got back to Georgia, things went back to normal, we both went back to work. We haven’t been doing much of anything in the mean time. We did to get to go to two new restaurants, both on accident. The first one, we went to pick up Lorenzo’s car from the shop and stopped by this little Thai Place called Siam Square  that I ending up loving. I love Thai food, and didn’t expect this place to be as good as it was because it wasn’t so noticeable from the outside; on any normal day I probably would have drove past it and never had thought twice about it but I’m glad we stopped there.

Lorenzo had to leave for his military training requirement last week so I wanted to take him to Bonefish Grill as his going away dinner but the location we went to was closed. But on the way out we found a bar called Marlow’s Tavern; because it was in the middle of the week (a Monday I think) the place was almost empty but very well decorated. The menu wasn’t strange, but different for a bar (they had grit cakes), but I’m starting to notice that a lot of restaurants in Georgia have grits of some form on the menu. The food was awesome; since it was our first time there, the manager brought us some homemade chips. Lorenzo had a lamb wrap and I had salmon. Even though the food was really good, it was the waitress that made the entire experience memorable for me. Her name was Lexxi and she was the sweetest person I’d ever met. She told us about her engagement and the passing of her mom (yes, Lorenzo and I get pretty friendly sometimes) and to top it off she gave Lorenzo and I $30 to put towards our wedding. Yes, our waitress gave US money to put towards our wedding. We were so taken aback we didn’t know what to do. We left her a HUGE tip though and I know that we will be making another trip back.

Other than that, I’m just waiting to begin my military commitment which is coming up in a few weeks. I probably won’t be able to write while I’m there, but I’ll try to make sure I take care it before and after I leave.

I will make more of an effort to be around more and actually make the time to write. I’ve been slipping and need to get back to it.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

