I’m Not a Fan of Valentines Day

meh-funny-anti-valentines-day-t-shirt

Don’t get me wrong, I am not against love or celebrating it, I just don’t understand what this “holiday” is about. At the risk of sounding like a cynic, I just don’t think Valentines Day is all that important. I realized as an adult, that I am not one of those super romantic women who celebrates things like “Our 2-Week (1 month, 3 month) Anniversary”, or “Our First Kiss Anniversary”, I always thought that the only ones that matter are the wedding anniversaries. Why? Because its a celebration of a permanent bond and its only ONE date that you have to memorize.

I remember being that way when I was about 14 and had my first boyfriend. I remembered things like our 1 week anniversary and our first kiss. After we broke up (about a month later), I used to ask myself why I cared about stuff like that, because I was sure he didn’t and I always thought that as a girl, I’m supposed to be that way. The older I got I realized that it wasn’t really my thinking, it was my mother’s. She was a super cheesy romantic. She LIVED for those Mount Airy Lodge commercials where the couple takes a bath in the big champagne glass, and then sit in front of the fireplace while drinking wine while their arms are intertwined- she ate it up.

Champagne

I guess I just feel like romantic moments are personal and private and shouldn’t be forced because people want to sell chocolates and greeting cards. Lorenzo can be very romantic, but he’s random about it, which I think is great because its unexpected and it takes the pressure off us to “perform” for everyone else; plus I won’t be disappointed if his plans don’t meet my expectations. I told him last year that he doesn’t have to get me anything for Valentines Day unless I specifically ask and don’t ever buy me flowers. I get sad when they die, so buy me shoes instead. Lorenzo and I have been together for almost 3 years and we still aren’t sure when our “Anniversary” is. I remember picking a date together, but I can never remember what it is. I’m pretty sure that I’ll have to save our wedding Anniversary in my phone as well.

I really hate to sound like I’m Anti-Valentines Day because I really don’t want to discourage how other people choose to celebrate it, I just don’t feel like I need a holiday to remind my fiance to be romantic and tell me he loves me. We tell each other all the time how much we love one another and we try to have “romantic” evenings as often as we can. I thought that I would have been looking forward to it this year, since this is the first year we can actually celebrate it together, but no, it hasn’t changed my mind. Maybe my definition of romance is different from other people, I would love to hear some opinions about it.

What are your thoughts on Valentines Day? Love it? Hate it?

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

2 thoughts on “I’m Not a Fan of Valentines Day”

  1. Valentine’s Day is ok, I think its more for younger people. I do like flowers and candy but I agree with you, I like it to be spontaneous. When you least expect it, then it means more. Btw Jarren and I dont know our anniversary either….we guessed. Lol!

    1. There are still grown ADULTS who still get caught up in the hype. And Heaven forbid you don’t want to participate in it, you’re “bitter”. I forgot to mention that pet peeve. Valentines Day is worse for single people because they are unwillingly put in a category because they don’t have anyone to “celebrate” with, and I don’t think that’s fair. With the divorce rates so high in this country you would think that in addition to Valentine’s Day they would have a holiday to celebrate being single.

Leave a Reply

