Dealing with Cabin Fever

Abandon

I’m not really sure if 3 days in the house qualifies me to have “cabin fever” but it certainly felt like it after a while. What started off as a little bit of snow turned into  somewhat of a catastrophe for Atlanta last week. On Tuesday, we had a “snow storm” of about 2-3 inches of snow that eventually caused the entire city to be shut down. Yes, you read that right… 2 to 3 inches. Now, you will have to excuse this native New Jersean and my sarcastic “You can’t be serious” sort of attitude about the entire thing, but that’s exactly how I felt at the time. I actually went out in the snow for a follow up interview after it first started snowing and when I realized that I wasn’t going to make it, I rescheduled, turned around and came home. What should have been a 20 minute drive took me 3 1/2 hours.

While I was driving 5 miles per hour almost to my front door, I couldn’t help but think of all the other people who still stuck in their cars moving 3-5mph and were super far from home. I didn’t realize how bad it was until I got home and started watching it on the news with Lorenzo, who decided to work from home that day. We ended up watching the news for the next 3 days. We only left the house once…to make a trip to the supermarket to get some things for dinner…and we walked. Lorenzo worked from home for the rest of the week. By Friday, I told him that this incident proved how much I loved him because we were trapped in the house for 3 days and haven’t attempted to kill each other once. Anyone else would have been grinding on my last nerve by that time.

gridlock

Poor Atlanta. Needless to say once it made the news that other states had nothing but jokes, jokes, and more jokes. Two of my sisters called me just to laugh, and I’m not going to lie…I laughed too. The funniest thing for me was the Buzzfeed list, comparing the “Snowpocalypse” to The Walking Dead. That literally made me laugh out loud.

To beat the “cabin fever”, Lorenzo and I went out on Friday night (After the road were cleared of all the abandoned cars) to a small restaurant called The Bottle Bar in Buckhead. We looked it up online before we went and we looked forward to mussels, grilled lamb, and fish & grits but when we got there were totally disappointed because they didn’t have any of those. Well, they had the fish but I had to substitute the grits for asparagus. Lorenzo replaced his lamb with chicken, and we replaced mussels with gumbo. Even though I enjoyed my dinner, I was completely thrown off by how they much they needed to update their menu. I asked the waitress to clarify if they just ran out of the items or if they didn’t serve them anymore and she said it was the latter. Maybe I need to lay off heavy foods like fish and grits in the first place because according to my siblings I’m getting “thick in the thighs” which they think is because of the southern food.

Saturday, we went to breakfast at the Waffle House, just to not be in the house again, and for dinner we went out with some of Lorenzo’s friends who live in Augusta who came over to celebrate a birthday. We had Pappadeaux for dinner (again), and we went to two bars called 3 Sheets and Taboo II. Superbowl Sunday was at another friends house in McDonough. Even though I wasn’t a fan of either team (but I kind of wanted the Broncos to win) I, again, just didn’t want to be in the house. The game was really crazy, and had some really great plays. You could totally tell that the Seahawks came to win…so congratulations to them.

unnamed

So now we have about 7 more months until Football season starts again, hopefully the Giants will get their act together this season. I think I will get myself into basketball with Lorenzo to help pass the time. Another good thing about this month is that The Walking Dead and Scandal come back on, WhooHoo!!!

Any thoughts on the game? Is anyone disappointed at the outcome?

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

