The Calm Before the Baby

Specialty-Baby-Shower-Cake

No, not my baby…my sister’s baby. I am flying out of town on Friday morning to go back to New Jersey for my sisters baby shower this weekend. I’m excited about the shower but I am not excited about the fact that they are putting me to work as soon as I get there. I have to help cook for the shower and possibly cook my sister everything else she wants while I’m there. Because I wasn’t paying attention to the dates when I purchased my flight, I am coming back to Atlanta early Sunday afternoon. I didn’t realize that Monday was a holiday and I could have extended it for another day.

Ever since my sister got preggers,…well even before she found out she was with child, she has been jumping on my case about when I was going to have my own children because she wanted to be an aunt. I had to keep reminding her that all I ever wanted to be was an aunt. Being a parent is hard work- I had to watch my mother almost lose her mind at some point and I’m terrified to have to go through what she went though. Just a few weeks ago, Lorenzo and I went to visit his friend Glen who is married and who’s wife just had as son last February. Glen was asking us when we were thinking about starting a family (not ‘if’ but ‘when’), but then wanted us to babysit because he and the misses never get to go out anymore. Now, I’m not sure about Lorenzo but I love our lazy weekends in front of the television and being able to make last minute plans. Plus, we will need to have someone around in case both of us have military training at the same time, like we did this past weekend. Lorenzo didn’t want to get a dog for that reason alone. Who’s going to watch him if we both have to leave???

What kind of sucks about not living around my family is that I don’t have that support system, and trust me it will help SOOOO much if/when we did decide to start a family. I need someone to hold me in case I end up crying more than the baby does. 🙂 Of course there are other reasons why we haven’t had children yet, but, I’ve never been one to succumb to peer pressure, so when we have one…but no more than two…we will.

In other news, I seem to be doing okay with keeping my New Years Resolutions. I haven’t picked a trip yet, but I have been writing and reading like I said I was. The only thing I haven’t been able to do is stay off of social media. I’m really bad at that. But every day is a new day and a chance to start over. I also came across two articles about things that “mentally strong” people don’t do, and I can relate to quite a few of them. The original one was posted on Forbes, and the other one is on Elite Daily. Check them out and tell me what you think.

See you guys after the shower (pics will follow, of course).

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

2 thoughts on “The Calm Before the Baby”

  1. Children are so much work, no matter what stage they’re at but I think so many people succumb to the pressure from friends and family to have kids because “it’s the next step.” I always give people a lot of credit who can openly admit parenthood just isn’t their thing. It’s not selfish it’s realistic.

    1. LOL thank you! I had to learn not to get offended by it anymore. I always think to myself, “You’re not going to be the one raising it, so why do you care?” I’m the oldest of 7 children, I know exactly what its about. And the more children you have the more personalities you have to deal with. Some people say being a parent has changed their lives- which is GREAT- but you can’t force other people to do what you’re doing- especially if they don’t want to.

      You know what’s funny? Is that people will jump down each others throats about starting a family, but are not supportive about things like starting a business, or a new employment adventure because it seems too “far fetched”. Weird.

Leave a Reply

