Is it the New Year Yet?

NYE-resolutions-funny-295x300

How was everyone’s Christmas? I hope that everyone got wonderful gifts, and if you didn’t, I hope that you at least got to spend some great quality time with your families. Lorenzo and I ended up staying at home for most of the day. We stayed in bed until about 1pm, and then at 1:30 my family called me to do their gift exchange. Later on, we went to Lorenzo’s sister’s house to drop off gifts for his nieces and nephews, and we made another stop to our friends house to have Christmas dinner with them. I was all set to cook myself, but when given the opportunity to let someone else do it, I was all for it.

Lorenzo loved his gifts- especially the gift card for the suit. We actually went and purchased it yesterday. He looks so amazing in a suit- I told him he should wear one every single day. It took all of my will power not to follow him in the store and pinch his bottom every chance I got 🙂 He bought me a new sweater, some Calvin Klein boots, and a Michael Kors watch. I loved them so much I wore everything on Christmas Day. His sister bought us a George Foreman Grill (which is VERY appreciated), and another friend gave us a gift card to Maggiano’s, an Italian restaurant- which we used last night, therefore creating another opportunity for me to not to have to cook.

NYE list

Now that Christmas is over we can focus on 2014, our goals, and how to accomplish them. What I’ve noticed about New Years’ Resolutions is that people generally tend to just list things that they want to do without any clear cut plan on how to do them. I plan to actually write down my goals and include a plan on how to make sure I keep up with and actually accomplish them. There is an article on the Psychology Today website called,  5 Mind Tricks to Help Keep Your Resolutions , which  I already have bookmarked and printed. Here is my list (it’s a first draft):

  • What: Read More (for Pleasure) How: Use down time wisely, less social media/television
  • What: LESS social media  How: remove apps, delete accounts
  • What: Take a trip How: use one vacation received from bridal events
  • What: Write more  How: Set aside 1hr/week to write a short story
  • What: Do one thing on my ‘bucket list’ How: find most reasonably priced/obtainable task, create a plan

Of course these are more recreational than anything else. My strive for financial security and personal growth is an ongoing thing and I make sure to include them every year. The only difference is that this year Lorenzo and I have to sit down and write out a plan together, for our wedding and our house. We both are used to doing things on our own so we have to make that adjustment. Eliminating something on my bucket list will probably coincide with either a trip or my writing (the plan it to get something published), so in that case I can kill two birds with one stone.

I’m going to spare you all a long detailed summary of how I plan to accomplish these things, but instead I’ll include them in my future posts. What are your New Years’ Resolutions? Are any of them recycled from previous years? How do you plan on accomplishing them? What do you think of my list? Any ideas for something I can add to it?

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

3 thoughts on “Is it the New Year Yet?”

  1. I have an ever growing list of things I want to accomplish in the new year but I’ve made some items BIG things and others small things that can be accomplished in an hour or an afternoon. I’ve also told myself not everything will be accomplished immediately which is going to be difficult for me because I need almost instant gratification. Slow and steady will be my mantra for 2014. 🙂

Leave a Reply

