Where are We Going?

WhereSo I’m in the house and I’m watching Sex and the City reruns and it got me thinking about my life and where I want to go with it (don’t ask me how that happened, my brain goes on excursions and I don’t know where my thoughts start or stop).

Anyways, I was watching the episode where Samantha found out she had cancer and thought she was being punished for not having children. Carrie started to wonder if she wanted to have children herself, considering that she was already “38” at the time (and don’t judge me about SATC, I need something to watch in between job hunting and football). I started to think about where I wanted to be in my life when I turn 38. I started thinking about the times when I was a kid and would plan out my entire life, one decade at a time and would become an absolute mess when something called “life” got in the way of my plans.

I stopped making New Year’s Resolutions about 4 years ago when I was talking to one of my friends about how I hate making New Year’s Resolutions. She told me that she makes “birthday resolutions”– every year on her birthday she sits down and looks at her life and sets a goal for herself that she has to complete by her next birthday. I thought that was a wonderful idea; it was way better than what I used to do on my birthday- sit down and cry about all the things I HAVEN’T accomplished. I prefer to plan my life out 5 years at a time and the military usually finds a way to mess up my plans with impromptu training, mobilization, and deployment. I was one of those kids who had a rigid list of things I needed to have completed by a certain age, but when I got old enough to realize that life doesn’t give a crap about my plans, I had to learn to adjust. I never planned on joining the Army- that was strictly a strategic move to ensure that my college education was paid for since I had no other support- but for some reason I ended up liking it and re-enlisted after I got my bachelor’s.

question-mark

I know that in the next five years I plan to: retire from the Reserves, get my M.A. within the next 2 years, get married, and buy a house. Those all seem attainable because I’m going to re-enlist again, I start my Master’s program next month, I’m already engaged and planning a wedding (or to elope, we haven’t decided yet), and Lorenzo and I decided to start house hunting in January. Some of the things that can change those plans could be if either one of us got deployed (not sure if I told you guys, Lorenzo is in the Marines…another reason I think he’s awesome) or if we were to become pregnant, or if something crazy happened with one of our families. I like to have plans because it means that I’m not being lazy with my life. I kind of feel that if you are always planning that means you are always moving forward and growing. Isn’t that what life is about? Being limitless?

unanswered-questions

I sometimes feel bad for people who don’t have any plans for their lives. They won’t do anything all day long, they don’t have goals, or dreams…nothing. They just sit around taking up space, letting time pass them by. That kind of existence makes me sad. I’d rather be a person who has crazy dreams than someone who has no dreams at all.

What are your dreams, plans, or goals? Where do you want to be 1, 3 or 5 years from now? Is it something you think about often?

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

5 thoughts on “Where are We Going?”

  1. I really enjoyed reading your post. I think planning and thinking about your future today will help you achieve your future goals. It’s brainstorming but for your life =)

    1. I agree 100%. I’ve met too many people who don’t plan or don’t put any of their plans into action and just let time pass them by without accomplishing anything. I think its really sad.

  2. I am like you when it comes to people who don’t have any dreams.. All they say is, the world is worthless and there is nothing to do. They’d rather sit and sulk all day or watch tv and listen music and play games then to do something constructive to make the worthless world a bit beautiful according to them!! >.<

    About my dreams and plans? Dreams I have a lot many, but I am yet unsure of the plans, but your friend's idea of making birthday resolution is fun one, I am going to try it my next birthday 🙂

    1. Yes! I thought that was so cool when she told me. I’m so over dramatic I used to look at my birthday and get sad about what I haven’t completed by that time. It helps when someone shows you how to look at things from a different perspective. I’m sure that how you want to plan out achieving your dreams will come to you. Sometimes it just takes time to plan things out. Nothing I want to do ever happens when I want it to happen, but the goal is to never give up on your dreams. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

