Football is Back and Other Good News

photo

I’ve been having this “itch” to write for the past few days but I had no clue what I wanted to write about so I haven’t bothered to pick up my laptop. That’s not good. I know that one way to get rid of writers block is to just keep writing (if anyone else starting singing “Just keep Swimming” in their heads- I love you!) and another way to is just stop and do something else to get your mind off of it. I’ve made a habit of stopping to do something else.

Since a few days have passed since I initially wanted to write, I do have some new developments in “My Atlanta Life”. Last Thursday was the beginning of the 2013 Football season and I could not be happier. Not really sure if some of you have picked up in my previous posts that I’m a Giants fan. A very emotional Giants fan. I’m not really sure how this happened when just 4 years ago I could never sit through an entire game, now I watch as many games as I can-it doesn’t matter who’s playing. But if anyone else is into football and saw the opening game against the Cowboys last night, you already know that I was not a happy camper. Now, I’m not one of those obnoxious, crazy, smack talking kinds of fans. I don’t get into fights with people. My siblings and I torment each other, but I don’t get into full blown arguments over social media about it. I’m crazy at home with my TV, but win or lose I try to be a good sport overall. Last night, I was a mess. I was scared, angry, hurt, and disappointed. After the game, I posted this on my Facebook:

“I hate everyone. I hate everything. I need my inhaler. I’m going to bed. Goodnight. Burn in hell. -__-“

Yes, I’m a little over dramatic; I’m working on that. My brother sent me these in a text after the game:

photo 2 photo 1

And I laughed it off- no big deal. See? I can be a good sport.

In other good news, I’m going to be a first time Aunt. One of my sisters found out she was pregnant the day before I was scheduled to move to Atlanta. Apparently she was 3 months pregnant and didn’t know it.  More like, she was in denial about it until she took a test. Later on that day, after Lorenzo proposed I told her to tell everyone about the pregnancy. She really didn’t want to tell my dad and grandmother while I was there because she didn’t want to “take my moment” away, but I wanted her to, and everyone was obviously happy about it. She found out on her birthday that she’s having a girl-apparently they can determine the sex of the baby with blood work. Hooray for modern medicine. She gets her next sonogram in October to confirm. She already has a name and a nickname picked out for her and I could not be more thrilled. We all were hoping for a boy but are still just as happy. We already have a ton of females in my family so when someone has a boy it’s the best ever. I was telling one of my friends that we need boys…there’s too many crazy bitches in my family as it is.

I think being an aunt or uncle is the best job ever. You get to spoil your niece or nephew rotten, take them on trips, buy them loud toys, be the awesome aunt, and then send them back to their parents. Since my sister is the first one of my siblings to have any children I know we are going to overdo it until some of the rest of us start having kids. I know I’m going to enjoy it. This is nothing new to Lorenzo, most of his siblings are older than him and have already established their families. He already has 11 nieces and nephews and another one on the way. Lorenzo and I haven’t decided to start a family yet, and we are good at not letting other people pressure us into it. We’ve decided for right now that if it happens, it happens. Parenthood can be super scary. I can hardly get through a Giants game without having an asthma attack. Aunt-hood I’m sure I can handle.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

