The Official Move–Part II

vibe-beyonce-single-ladies_1 Two posts in less than 24 hours?! And another Beyoncé video?? What’s going on here??

Well as I stated in the previous post, so much as happened over the past week that I wanted to make sure that I got everything before I can move forward. Last time I spoke about my last day of work so now I’m going to tell you what happened afterwards. Friday was my last and final day to get everything packed up before I left, and trust me my stuff was EVERY WHERE. My sister Cassandra wanted to have a “Sister’s Brunch” that day since I was leaving Saturday evening. We ended up going to IHOP. I love IHOP.

Lorenzo told me that his flight coming from Atlanta would be in at 9:30pm so I figured I had plenty of time to get everything done. I hadn’t heard from him for most of the day; every time I called he said he would call me back. The first time, I thought it was because he was busy with work, but the second time I started to get a bit agitated because it wasn’t like him not to call me back. Of course my sisters decided to have fun with me and tease me about it, but…whatever.

Around 5 we decided to go to my grandmother’s house for a quick visit. As we were getting ready to leave we ran into my Dad who was on his way over there too. My baby sister showed up with her friend and before we knew it there was a clan walking around the corner to see her. My brother Kevin and my sister’s boyfriend were already there. After pleasantries were exchanged, my dad said that he had a surprise for me, so we all went inside and my eyes were covered. When I opened my eyes, Lorenzo was standing in front of me. I was so happy to see him, but I did scold him for not calling me back. He was telling me how he was hanging out with Kevin all day and when I called- they were watching The Dark Knight Rises.

 Then Lorenzo commanded the attention of the room. He started to tell everyone that he loved me, and wanted my whole family to know that. My Dad pulled a box out of his pocket and gave it to him. Then he got down on one knee and asked me to marry him (after he showed me the ring and everyone calmed down from all the screaming). I honestly couldn’t speak-the only thing that was going on in my head was “OMG, this is happening. This is happening. Is this really happening?” My sister had to yell at me to give him and answer and the only thing I could do was nod. It was amazing.

We're engaged!

We got to have the going away party as an engaged couple instead of just a couple moving in together. Even though I knew a proposal was coming, the way he pulled it  off was a complete surprise to me. I love the ring; I can’t stop staring at it. It has a round diamond surrounded by a halo; it’s not to big and gaudy, it’s classy, and sparkly and it says: Lorenzo.

My going away party the next day was very small and comfortable, just the way I wanted it. We spent the afternoon at my Aunt’s house in her beautiful backyard. Later on that night, we wrapped up, went back to my grandmother’s one last time and got on the road. That was a post within itself and I will save it for next time….but in the mean time…here’s another Beyoncé video…because my life seems to remind me of some of her songs. 🙂

Stayed tuned for Part III- The Trip.  

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

Leave a Reply

