5 Weeks Left…

movingday  The boyfriend and I were having a conversation last night, he was telling me that he missed me. I calculated that we had exactly 5 weeks left before “The Move”.  According to him that’s a long time, but I had to remind him that we are going to be together…everyday…from now on.

He will no longer have to worry about one of us leaving to go back home in our respective states. He’ll no longer have to rush though Atlanta traffic trying to get me to the airport in time or me holding out as long as I can before I would have to take him back to Newark Airport. We’ll be living in the apartment he chose for us, together.

I don’t think this move has dawned on some of my family members yet; I was packing some of my things and one of my sisters asked me where I was going. I had to yell at the top of my lungs, “I’m MOVING!!!”, and she just laughed. The sister that currently live with confessed that she really thought that I was going to ride this out for about a year and a half before I actually did it. My Dad will give me this look, and ask me, “Are you sure? Are you sure?”

The crazy thing is that my family wasn’t this emotional when I left for Basic Training or when I deployed in 2009. The idea of me leaving didn’t dawn on them until we had a Family Day on Fort Dix, the day before we shipped out. I couldn’t figure out why they were so shocked, I had been in training for 4 months before I left.

I know that my family knows that my boyfriend is a good guy and has nothing but the best intentions for me, but I just can’t help getting a little defensive when outsiders-people who don’t know me that well or have never met my boyfriend, give me this “if things don’t work out” speech. I understand that some people are just trying to look out and have my best interest at heart, but this is something that I have been planning to do for a very long time now…even before I met my boyfriend. He and I have very serious discussions about our relationship, our wants, needs, and expectations of each other. We also understand that we can’t plan for every scenario, but will work together to resolve any issues that we have. This isn’t something that we are rushing into, its been a work in progress for almost 4 years for me and about a year an a half for him.

We will be fine. I am old enough to know that just because someone is giving you advice that you don’t have to listen to it. There will always be naysayers. I’ve had family members tell me that I wouldn’t make it out of Basic Training; fast forward 14 years and not only am I’m still in, I moved up in rank quickly. So, where are those people now? …… Exactly.

Published by

Pat

There's a lot going on in my head and sometimes I write it down.

2 thoughts on “5 Weeks Left…”

Leave a Reply

